Pharmacy Department Overview


Our pharmacy department utilizes an integrative practice model, where pharmacists have responsibilities for both distributive and clinical functions. Advancement of our practice model includes the incorporation of state-of-the-art technological systems and the implementation of a comprehensive electronic medical record.  Ambulatory Care pharmacy services are provided in the anticoagulation, diabetes, discharge/transitions of care, infectious disease, oncology and pulmonary clinics.

Pharmacy Personnel

Our residency preceptors are actively engaged in practice, education and scholarship. The majority of preceptors hold adjunct appointments with Wayne State University, Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions, University of Michigan and/or at the Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine and enjoy productive collaborative relationships with these key partners .

In recognition of their accomplishments, members of our pharmacy team have received external recognition of excellence at the local, state and national level. Our preceptors hold Fellow status within national professional organizations as well as discipline-specific and specialty board certification.

Additional awards include:

  • Exemplary Resident Continuing Education (CE) Lecture, Southeastern Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists 2016
    Julie Francisco, Pharm.D.; recognized for outstanding resident CE presentation
  • Pharmacist of the Year, Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists 2015
    Mark Lutz, Pharm.D. CPPS, Drug Information & Medication Safety Specialist; recognized for his contributions to medication safety at the local, state and national level
  • Student Research Award, Southeastern Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists 2014
    Alex Chaben, Pharm.D. Candidate, Wayne State University and  Pharmacy Intern, Beaumont, Royal Oak; recognized for his work on evaluating inpatient anticoagulant hemorrhage
  • Innovative Practice Award, Southeastern Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists 2012
    Awarded to pharmacists at Beaumont for improving outcomes of patients with Heparin Induced Thrombocytopenia